top of page

Shouldn't school be easier?


man speeding pass others sitting at desks

Ok, so, 20 minutes before I have to open the office, I write a tweet," Got an A in Microeconomics!!! Go me! Thinking about going back to school but worried abut being too busy?" And I was going to simply find someone elses article on the subject and keep it moving. After all, I only had 20 minutes. But alas, when my creative juices are flowing I have to let them go. No fair that it took me 10 minutes to boot up the editing site. (My fault I was working on my other site before bed and didn't shut things down, you kow how PCs are.) So here's my post in 7 minutes or less....

As you know, I'm quite busy. I have 3 kids 6 and under, a 7 year old dog, a husband who not only has epilepsy, but has jsut been diagnosed with arthirtis (yay us!) so I do most of the house work and child rearing and I help as much as possible (about 40%+) for our insurance brokerage. With his additional ailment, by the end of the year that will increase to about 60%. I am his helpmeet afterall. I also started and got quite serious about my direct sale beauty business (www.only1rep.com), even buying a domain. So where in the world do I get off also wanting to return to school?

Ladies (and gents), it's not that hard. I like to be busy. I like to learn. I'm also trying to stave off Alzheimer's. Which I'm convienced that more women get it because while me are doing challenging things that continues to work the brain, most women, even if they work outside the home, are doing menial tasks that don't require much thinking (because seriously, once you've got your system down pat, you NIKE it) and if you don't use it, yep, you lose it!

So here I am, on top of everything back in college, to get a Bachelors degree. The things I've found helpful are :

1. NIKE that shit. Sorry I had to say it. Men like to tell us don't multi-task becuase it deminishes the quality of the product. That's only true for them. If the Bible is true, then women were made to help them, which means, we're better equipt to handle life than they are. you're NEVER going to find the time. So take it. yes it will be ruff. You may have undone laundry or late dinners, or even a late assignment. Best believe it will get better. You'll force yourself to make it work.

2. Find a school you like. For me it was an online school called Southern New Hampshire University. I've been at the school I think a year now and I like it. The class work not easy. In fact sometimes I believe the professor is straight out oc college with no family or other job, because the workload is so tight. but the classes are only 8 weeks. So I can take one at a time and still move at a solid pace. You can go to a brick and mortar school. That will allow you to interact intellectually with other adults. Something I still crave.

3. Choose a subject you're going to LOVE! If you don't love it, you wan't be motivated enough to do it. take exercising..yeah when's the last time you did that seriously for more than a few days at a time? You didn't love it and your motivation was wrong. "Getting healthy" isn't enough. If it were you wouldn't be 10+ pounds away from your ideal weight.

4. That leads me to: find your motivation. What's your why? the guru's always ask. If your why isn't strong enough. Powerful enough. Things just aren't going to flow very well. It's like trying to write a blog post. just because it's the middle of the month and you "have to write something." Doesn't work. Give your brain a great enough reason and watch it work!

5. Keep going. I have to be honest. My husband wasn't in full support when I decided to go back to school. In fact his words were quite discouraging. Something about me already being too busy. Lol! Naw, he was really concerned about taking a back burner to school when he was already behind the kids. (In his defense he was an only child and despite what his mother thinks he was spoiled-almost rotten).

Ok, so I'm almost 20 minutes late for making my first call. It wasn't scheduled so I guess that's ok. One of the perks of being self employed is FLEXIBLITY. I love it! I did want to take the time and share with you a little peak into my life. I'm sure your life is just a phenomenal and you're just as extraordinary...just trying to get it all done.

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page